Constitution of the Irish National Committee of the International Council on Traditional Music (ICTM Ireland)

1. Name


2. Objectives


The National Committee will assist in the study, practice, documentation, preservation and dissemination of traditional music and dance, including folk, popular, classical, urban, and other genres, of Ireland, its diaspora, and of all musical cultures investigated by researchers based in Ireland.

The principle aims of ICTM Ireland are for the advancement of education and research. Its financial resources are not for profit, but will be used to advance the objectives of the organisation and benefit the academic and wider community it serves.

It will endeavor to spread knowledge of the ICTM Council’s activities and so far as possible, act as a link between the ICTM Council and the members of the National Committee.

3. Functions


The functions of the National Committee include, but are not limited to:

(a) holding symposia, conferences and colloquia;

(b) publishing information relating to the National Committee as electronic matter on a website, audio and video recordings, and the printing of other occasional publications;

(c) encouraging local, national and international archives;

(d) facilitating the exchange of information in any form, including electronic files, films, recordings and publications;

(e) supporting the organisation of lectures and concerts; (f) cooperating with broadcasting organisations and other relevant bodies.

4. Membership


The membership of the National Committee shall consist of:

(a) HONORARY MEMBERS – individuals who have made exceptionally distinguished contributions to the work of the National Committee may, upon recommendation of the Committee, be elected Honorary Members by the General Membership.

(b) ORDINARY MEMBERS – individuals who wish to further the objectives of the National Committee may become Ordinary Members on payment of a minimum annual membership fee to be determined by the Committee.

(c) STUDENT MEMBERS – individuals who submit proof of their status as full-time students may become Student Members at a reduced rate.

(d) CORPORATE MEMBERS – government departments,

regional scholarly societies, radio-television organisations and other corporate bodies may become Corporate Members with the approval of the National Committee and on payment of a minimum annual membership fee to be determined by the Committee.

5. Committee


(a) The management of the National Committee shall be vested in the Committee, responsible to the ICTM Council.

(b)The Committee shall consist of a Chair, one Secretary, one Treasurer, one Information Officer, one Membership Secretary, and one Education Officer, all of whom shall be elected by the membership of the National Committee at the Annual General Meeting. The Committee may also include up to two Members at Large. In addition, the Committee may co-opt other nonvoting members as defined in clause (f).

(c)Nominations for Committee members to be elected shall be made by a member in good standing. Members of the Committee are elected for a three-year term. Committee members may be elected for a second term of three years. Officer positions will be decided by the elected committee members at the first meeting following the AGM. In order to ensure continuity the secretary and treasurer may be co-opted onto the successive committee for a period of six months.

(e) The Committee may appoint a substitute to fill any vacancy

that arises until the next Ordinary Meeting of the General Assembly, when this appointment requires ratification.

(f) The Committee may co-opt not more than three non-voting members in addition to those elected by the membership, should specialist expertise or skills be required. Such members shall retire at the next General Meeting or on completion of the task in hand. They shall thereafter be eligible for election as full officers of the Committee.

(g) The Committee shall meet at least three times each year at a time and place to be determined by the Officers. Should urgent matters arise between meetings, votes may be taken by correspondence.

(h) The members of the Executive Board shall exercise the powers delegated to them by the General Assembly on behalf of the Council as a whole.

(i) The Committee shall establish and approve a Memorandum on procedural rules of the Committee.

(j) The Committee may appoint such sub-committees as may be desirable from within the membership of ICTM Ireland. Sub-committees will report through convening representatives to the Committee.

6. Conferences


(a) A Symposium shall be held at intervals of not more than three years.

(b) The date and place of the symposium will be determined by the Committee.

7. Finance


(a) The Council will be financed by (i) membership payments from all types of membership except Honorary Members; (ii) donations, endowments and grants.

(b) A statement of accounts shall be submitted by the Treasurer to each General Meeting of the Membership.

(c) In the event of dissolution, the assets of the Committee shall devolve, in accordance with the decision of the General Membership.

8. Alterations to the Constitution


(a) Proposals for alterations must be received by the Secretary in writing not less than two weeks before a General Meeting.

(b) Proposals, duly received and listed on the agenda, will be put before the General Membership for approval.

(c) Any proposal approved by a two-thirds majority of the members present at the General Assembly and entitled to vote, will stand adopted upon ratification by a simple majority of votes received in a ballot from members in good standing.

(d) The changed Constitution will become effective within one month of ratification.